News: Geoff Barrow (Portishead) to release 41-track hip hop album on Stones Throw

News: Geoff Barrow (Portishead) to release 41-track hip hop album on Stones Throw

Geoff Barrow, member of the influental trip hop band Portishead and noted producer, is preparing a 41-track(!) hip hop album, to be released on Stones Throw Records. It’s a full collection of tracks he’s made under the moniker Fuzzface in collaboration with Katalyst and 7stu7 (Portishead’s engineer). Together the three musicians go by the name of Quakers.

Guest appearances are by the likes of MED, Guilty Simpson, King Magnetic, Jonwayne, Buff1, Booty Brown (of The Pharcyde), Diverse, Krondon, Prince Po, Aloe Blacc, Akil (formerly of Jurassic 5), Dead Prez, and many more. In an interview with The Guardian, Katalyst describes the album as “a pretty dirty, heavy, kind of lo-fi hip-hop record.”

Listen to some samples here and check the cover and full tracklist below. There’s no official release date known yet.

01 Intro
02 Big Cat [ft. Synato Watts] 03 Fitta Happier [ft. Guilty Simpson & MED] 04 Smoke [ft. Jonwayne] 05 The Lo
06 Russia With Love [ft. Coin Locker Kid] 07 What Chew Want [ft. Tone Tank] 08 Flapjacksmm
09 Jobless [ft. Quite Nyce] 10 Sidewinder [ft. Buff1] 11 Mummy [ft. Diverse] 12 Belly of the Beast [ft. Emilio Rojas] 13 Up the Rovers
14 The Turk [ft. King Magnetic] 15 There it Is [ft. the Champs] 16 RIP
17 I Like to Dance [ft. Krondon & General Steele] 18 Dark City Lights [ft. Frank Nitty] 19 The Beginning [ft. Coin Locker Kid] 20 Kreem
21 War Drums [ft. Phat Kat & Guilty Simpson] 22 R.A.I.D. [ft. Lyric Jones] 23 Fresh
24 Something Beautiful
25 Chicken Livers [ft. FC the Truth] 26 Rock My Soul [ft. Prince Po] 27 Lost and Found [ft. Estee Nack] 28 My Mantra [ft. Dave Dub] 29 Hunnypots of Beeswax
30 TV Dreaming [ft. Booty Brown] 31 Don’t Make it Worthless
32 Soul Power [ft. Dead Prez] 33 Glide
34 Get Live [ft. Coin Locker Kid] 35 Sign Language [ft. Aloe Blacc] 36 Earth Quaking [ft. Akil] 37 You’re Gonna Be Sorry
38 Outlaw [ft. Deed] 39 The Tax Man [ft. Sareem Poems] 40 Chucky Balboa [ft. Silverust] 41 Oh Goodness [ft. Finale]

More Info

Just an ordinary guy always on the hunt for extraordinary music. Not just as the founder of The Find Magazine & Rucksack Records, but also as a freelance music journalist (bylines at Tracklib, Bandcamp, Wax Poetics, DIG Mag, among others) and—above all—out of love for all kinds of good music.