Free Download: Funky DL – Jazzmatic (Nas Remixes)

Free Download: Funky DL – Jazzmatic (Nas Remixes)

Just imagine if this happened and picture the setting: it’s the late 30s and a local jazz club is packed to the brim with people awaiting emcee Nas and his jazz musicians (orchestrated by Funky DL) along with featured artists to come and play a 10-track set. The lights are dim and the hall is filled with smoke: that’s the atmosphere of thiJazzmatic remix album by producer/emcee Funky DL.

It’s always risky to touch a classic like Illmatic, but these jazz interpretations of material by Nas (not limited to his timeless debut) work really well.

Funky DL: “I can remember (quite vividly) the first time I heard and saw Nas as a fresh, new and very young emcee doing his thing on MC Serch’s ‘Back to the Grill Again’. I myself was a teenager, keenly glued to Yo MTV Raps on the regular. He struck me as the stand out emcee just because of the sheer audaciousness he had when he attacked the microphone. I mean come on… ‘Serial killer, who works by the phone book’.”

1. Intro 00:25
2. You Know My Style 03:31
3. Rewind feat. Lei-an 02:42
4. Life’s a Bitch feat. AZ 03:15
5. Get Down 04:22
6. Made You Look 03:23
7. Intermission 00:24
8. Blaze a 50 feat. Lei-an 03:19
9. It Ain’t Hard To Tell 03:35
10. One Love feat. Lei-an 05:29
11. Purple 03:52
12. Virgo feat. Ludacris, Doug E. Fresh & Lei-an 04:26
13. Outro 03:41

Download / Purchase

Just an ordinary guy always on the hunt for extraordinary music. Not just as the founder of The Find Magazine & Rucksack Records, but also as a freelance music journalist (bylines at Tracklib, Bandcamp, Wax Poetics, DIG Mag, among others) and—above all—out of love for all kinds of good music.